You are currently viewing Sekyere Afram Plains District

Sekyere Afram Plains District

The Sekyere Afram Plains District is one of the 260 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 43 of MMDAs in the Ashanti Region and has its administrative capital as Drobonso.

Sekyere Afram Plains District Assembly was established in March 2012 through Legislative Instrument (LI) 2114 and was inaugurated on 28th June 2012.

The District is located at the North-Eastern part of the Ashanti Region between latitude oo 20’ N and 1o 2’ N and longitudes 6o 52’W and 7o 32’W. The district covers an estimated land area of 2,450.39 square kilometers. This makes the district the largest in terms of land area in the Region representing 14.5 per cent of the total regional land size.

The District shares common boundaries with Sekyere-Kumawu to the South, Sekyere Central to the West. It also shares boundaries with  Kwahu Afram Plains North District, in the Eastern Region to the east and the Atebubu-Amantin Municipal and Sene East District in the Bono East Region to the north. It shares boundaries with Sene West District in the Brono East Region to the west.


Source: Ashantibiz