You are currently viewing Multimedia’s Erastus Asare Donkor is 2023 Journalist of the Year

Multimedia’s Erastus Asare Donkor is 2023 Journalist of the Year

  • Post category:National

Mr Erastus Asare Donkor, a journalist with the Multimedia Group Ghana, has been adjudged the 2022 Journalist of the Year.

Mr Donkor won the best reporter in illegal mining with his documentary “Destruction for Gold”, before crowning it with the ultimate.

Neta Kris Abiana Parsram, also with the Multimedia Group, emerged the Komla Dumor Most Promising Journalist; whereas, Collincia Ayifa, a student of the University of Cape Coast, won the newly introduced Student Journalist of the Year.

Francesca Enchill, a freelancer at the Multimedia Group Ghana, won the Female Journalist of the Year, with Anthony Adongo Apubeo of the Ghana News Agency winning the Best Education Reporter.

Mr Albert Kofi Dwumfour, President of the Ghana Journalists Association, said the awards was to celebrate professional excellence and reward journalists for their works.

Mr Dwumfour condemned attacks on journalists, saying the Association shall “fight back” against such attacks by instituting legal actions.

“We encourage the media fraternity never
to be intimidated by attacks on media
freedom; rather, they should be encouraged by our overriding duty to serve the public interest at all times.

“Our profession is not for timorous souls and nothing whatsoever should convert us into such weakling,” he added.

Mr Kojo Oppong-Nkrumah, Minister for Information, said the reason for the perpetuation of attacks on journalists was the fact that the culprits were not punished enough.

He said his office would work with the relevant state institutions such as the police and the judiciary to stop such attacks.

Mr Oppong-Nkrumah said his Ministry was developing a national plan of action to combat misinformation and disinformation.

He added that the Ministry would continue to build the capacity of journalists in their work to enhance media professionalism.

Below is the list of all winners:

1.Anthony Adongo Apubeo (GNA) – Education

  1. Beatrice Senadju (GBC) – Health
  2. Della Russel Ocloo (Daily Graphic) – Agric & food security
  3. Vivian Adu (Atinka Media) – Gender
  4. Newsfile (Joy fm) – Radio Programme (English)
  5. Fred Duhoe (CitiTV) – News (Television)
  6. Akua Oforiwa Darko (GBC) – Environment & Science
  7. Gifty Adjei (GBC) – Features (TV)
  8. Alberto Mario Noretti (The Mirror) – News (Print)
  9. Seth Bokpe (The Fourth Estate) – Democracy and Good Governance
  10. Emma Davies (MultiMedia Group) – Business/economics
  11. Mohammed Fugu (Daily Graphic) – Domestic Tourism
  12. Kweku Bolton (GBC) – Arts & entertainment
  13. Francisca Enchill (Joynews, Freelance) – Investigative Journalist
  14. Edward Adeti (The Fourth Estate/Media without Borders) – Crime/court
  15. Erastus Asare Donkor (Multimedia Group) – Illegal Mining (TV)
  16. Emmanuel Dzivenu (Joy Prime) – Disability
  17. Eric Mensah-Ayettey (Myjoyonline) – Columnist
  18. Efia Akese (The Mirror) – Features (Print)
  19. Kester Aburam Korankye (Daily Graphic) – Road safety
  20. Daily Graphic – Newspaper layout
  21. Efisem (Atinka Media) – Radio Programme (Gh Language)
  22. Ridwan Karim Dini-Osman (EIB network) – Feature (Radio)
  23. Felix Dela Klutse (Pent Media Centre) – Features (online)
  24. Neta Kris Abiana Parsram (Multimedia Group) – Most promising journalist
  25. Doreen Ampofo (GBC) – Documentary (Radio)
  26. Godwin Asediba (Media General) – Documentary (TV)
  27. Collincia Ayifa (via Multimedia Group) – Student journalist (UCC)
  28. Critical Issues – UTV (TV Programme, Gh Language)
  29. Ghana Tonight – TV3 (TV Programme, English)

Four categories failed to produce winners.

They are sports, news online category, news radio category and photojournalism.

0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %